Home / Breaking News / Traditional Rulers Tasked on Peace
Traditional Rulers Tasked on Peace

Traditional Rulers Tasked on Peace

Traditional rulers in Akwa Ibom have been tasked to work towards enthroning enduring peace in their respective domains as no society can experience progress and development without peace.

Mr. Moses Ekpo, the Deputy Governor of Akwa Ibom State who stated this yesterday while receiving the report of the resolution of the 55-year-old boundary crises between Nung Oku Ekanem and Afaha Ubium Villages of Onna Local Government Area, noted that he was very delighted at the speed and thorough delivery of the job by the Committee.

He acknowledged that the 55 year-old rift was not only costly on both sides, but represents one of the longest running communal conflicts in the country.

The Deputy Governor who applauded the two communities for their co-operation with the resolution committee, stressed the need for them to return to the path of peace and work towards rebuilding the losses of the past.

He said the state government will diligently study the recommendations of the committee and ensure that justice is done in order to bring a full closure to that chapter of the area’s history.

The Deputy Governor who is also the Chairman of the State Boundary Committee further used the occasion to appeal to warring communities in the state to emulate the example of the Onna communities, and to always be ready to embrace conflict resolutions as a way out of communal misunderstandings.

He finally urged the two communities to ensure full compliance with the terms of the Memorandum of Understanding.

Presenting the report to the Deputy Governor earlier, the Paramount Ruler of Onna Local Government, His Royal Majesty, Edidem Raymond T. Inyang thanked the state government for finding them fit to serve in bringing back peace to the two villages.

He commended the Governor and the Deputy Governor for their untiring efforts in working towards communal peace in the state, and therefore appealed to the state government to do justice to the report in order to guarantee an enduring peace in the area.

Other members of the Committee who attended the ceremony were: Barr. Uduak J Eyo-Nsa – Solicitor General/Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Justice, Surv. (Mrs.) Emem P. Isang – State Surveyor-General and Mr. Nkopuruk Ekaiko – Permanent Secretary, Office of the Deputy Governor who served as the Secretary to the Committee.

Ekikere Umoh
Press Secretary to the Deputy Governor

About dozzier

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top